Crafty Home Economist

Working the Dollar to Achieve Your Dreams

Series: Couponing for the Busy Couponer – Why Coupon? (1)

Couponing for the Busy Couponer

imagesCAX1XJCT

Day 1 – Why Coupon?

Let’s face it.  Time is a precious commodity these days.  If your life is anything like mine, many days get long just trying to fit in the daily requirements.

So why spend the time and energy clipping coupons and searching for deals?  Ok, I’ll tell you why, but first let me bring up a few myths, misconceptions, questions (whatever you what to call them).  Then, if you keep checking back, I will share with you how to get the biggest bang for your buck with couponing.  Along the way I will tell you how I coupon to save my time and efforts.

Some of you may be thinking these comments:

1.  “I have tried clipping coupons before and I don’t save enough for the effort”.

2.  “You can’t eat healthy when purchasing foods with coupons”.

3.  “It takes way too much time to clip and organize coupons”.

And, I am sure there are many others.  In this series, I will address these questions and hopefully any others that you may have.  Also, check out Money Saving Mom’s post on why everyone should use coupons.  She does a great job answering these questions also.

Why Coupon?

The biggest reason is to save money.  My tagline is “working the dollar to achieve your dreams”.  Often these dreams require money of some kind, in the physical form or your time.  Time is money.  How much is your time worth?

I spend about an hour preparing for an average shopping trip, more for some of my bigger trips.  My savings are anywhere between $25 – $166.  Ok, I know that is a big range.  I guesstimate that a good average is in the $50 – $60 range.  So, I make about $55/hr when I go grocery shopping.  I’ll take that.

My hour of preparation includes:

Researching deals (I will explain more about this)

Making a list

Clipping and organizing coupons

Next time I will talk about getting and organizing coupons.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

