Crafty Home Economist

Working the Dollar to Achieve Your Dreams

Goal Setting – My 2013 Goals

I am big on goal setting.  I try to have long-term and short-term personal goals.  As a family, we also set family goals.  It is important to understand that our goals are just that, something to shoot for.  I tailor most of my decisions based on what I want to achieve.  I have to stop and ask myself sometimes “is what I am doing right now helping me achieve one of my goals?”  Having the answer be “no” is fine sometimes.  However, if I want to achieve my goals, I have to be diligent about doing what is needed to reach them.

I highly recommend reading Tell Your Time by Amy Andrews.  Her book helped me organize my priorities, roles, and goals.  It is a time management book, so ultimately it helped me realize that I can’t do it all.  I have to prioritize and set my goals based on what is priority, then fill my day with what will help me achieve my goals.  Tell Your Time is a great, easy read and workbook.

Everyone has heard about SMART goals.  Here is a quick reminder.

Specific Measurable Attainable Relevant Time bound

So, here are my goals for 2013.  I will be checking in periodically to update you on how it is going.  I would love to hear what your goals are.

Family Goals

1 weekly family outing

Weekly menu planning at least 2x a month

3 family weekend getaways

1 date night with Ryan every other month

2 play dates for Ellie each month (in addition to her scheduled activities)

Find a new way to appreciate Ryan each month (I will let you know what I find)

Organize a family move cross country for September

Tithe 10% every month

Put at least 10% into retirement savings

Financial Goals

Increase home down payment savings by 50% by the end of the year

Save to pay cash for all Christmas gift giving, including charity gifts (we need a budget first)

Business Goals

Blog at least 3x a week

Do at least 1 original post each week

Make 30 pacifier clips a month (currently selling locally, on etsy site soon)

Try 1 new recipe each month

Try 1 new craft project each month

Introduce 2 new products on my Etsy site by end of year

Personal Goals

Read 1 new book each month

Get together with friends (without Ellie) 2x a month (this is a hard one)

Have 1 date with self each month

 

Ryan says my goals are very ambitious.  I’ll let you know how I am doing with them.  What are your goals?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

